For Immediate Release: Contact: Delegate Robbyn Lewis
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 410-841-3772

The Zero Waste Legislative Task Force Announces
Pathway to Zero Waste Legislative Package

ANNAPOLIS, MD (January 28, 2020) — State Delegate Robbyn Lewis and members of the Zero Waste Communities Legislative Task Force will announce the Pathway to Zero Waste Legislative Package for the 2020 Session of the Maryland General Assembly on Wednesday, January 29, 2020 from 9:15 – 9:45 am in Room 180 of the House Office Building, 6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401.

Members of the Task Force are Delegates Robbyn Lewis (D-46), Lorig Charkoudian (D-20), Jazz Lewis (D-24), Brooke Lierman (D-46), Nick Mosby (D-40), Emily Shetty (D-18) and Stephanie Smith (D-45). Since they first convened in May 2019, this group of legislators has gathered input from community members, advocates and other stakeholders to develop draft legislation focused on reducing solid waste and air pollution.

“This team of progressive legislators has done something unique: working together, across jurisdictions, to develop a broad policy platform addressing trash and pollution, and that takes the first step to a truly Zero Waste economy. Our constituents asked us to do this and we have taken their request to heart.”

The Task Force will describe the package of bills that members will introduce, including Delegate Lierman’s HB209 Plastic Bag Elimination bill, Delegate Charkoudian’s Incinerated Ash Bill, Delegate Mosby’s bill to remove incineration from the Renewable Portfolio Standard, and others.

For more information about the Zero Waste Communities Legislative Task Force, please contact Delegate Robbyn Lewis at or 410-841-3772.